Learning to Moodle

Do you Moodle? If so, where and how? Do you use Moodle in blended or fully online format?

If you don't Moodle, why not?

• Zahra Shafiee

By Zahra Shafiee

I have just started to Moodle. I am new in it and what has helped me a lot was the course Moodle for Teachers M4TEVO18 (I participated in 2017 too, but I couldn't complete it due to my schedule). I am opening a fully virtual course on my university Moodle. 

I use Moodle as it is available to me. Also it is convenient for both teachers and learners. In addition, since it is a widely used platform, there are a lot of information online about it that I can solve my problems by searching, and using the users' comments and the experts advice.

• Dr. Nellie Deutsch

By Dr. Nellie Deutsch

Are you satisfied with the university Moodle? How are your students responding to the platform?

• Zahra Shafiee

By Zahra Shafiee

My  university Moodle is satisfactory for both students and instructors, but it is for formal curricular virtual courses, and for research use, we have to do some paper work to be permitted to use its facilities. They have recently installed a Moodle for research purposes, but it is not completely depended to the main site, thus, has not receive the sufficient IT support that the main LMS receives. It is new and needs some tools and plugins to be added, and I need to learn a lot more.

For example, for synchronous sessions, I have not yet managed to add a tool to the Moodle. University does not support WizIq and we need to use the free trial out of platform by sending invitations via email. Now I am doing some paper work to use Adobe Connect form the main site of university available for curricular virtual courses. Hope I succeed!

Of other glitches I face, as compared with your Moodle, I can mention very simple examples: